Types of Land Tenure Systems

Types of Land Tenure Systems in Uganda – Land Ownership in Uganda

There are various Types of Land Tenure Systems in Uganda under under which citizens and foreigners can buy land, own and utilize it. Land can either be owned in perpetuity or for a given period of time. The Land Act (1998) identifies the four forms of land tenure systems in Uganda which include Customary, Leasehold, Freehold and Mailo, grants all legitimate and bona fide occupants property rights; establishes land tribunals and decentralizes land administration.

It is under such tenure systems under which land can be acquired, owned, utilized and disposed off. If you do  not belong to any of the systems of tenure, you do not own land in Uganda. However, you can only be defined as a tenant on a property, a squatter or bona-fide occupant as may the law determine based on circumstances of occupancy.

Uganda is relatively a vast country with lots of un-utilized and underutilized land. Uganda’s land to a bigger scope is fertile and very excellent for large scale industrialization, residential setups and farming.

The following are the Types of Land Tenure Systems in Uganda as enshrined in the 1995 Ugandan Constitution:-

1. Mailo Land Tenure System
2. Freehold Land Tenure System
3. Leasehold Tenure System
4. Customary Land Tenure System

5. Public Land 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.